KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

2022 Special Committee on State Employee and Board Member Compensation

Sen. Mike Fagg, Vice-chairperson
Sen. Rick Billinger
Sen. Ethan Corson
Sen. Rick Kloos
Sen. Gene Suellentrop
Rep. Troy Waymaster, Chairperson
Rep. Leo Delperdang
Rep. Susan Humphries
Rep. Bill Sutton
Rep. Mari-Lynn Poskin
Rep. Brandon Woodard
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Dylan Dear
Steven Wu
J.G. Scott
Jill Wolters
David Wiese
Amelia Kovar-Donohue
Committee Assistant

Study Topic

Review state employee compensation as compared to the other public sector and private sector employees, using market studies prepared by the Department of Administration; review continued use of classified and unclassified service; review compliance with existing Kansas statutes regarding state employees; review other states' employment systems for comparison with the Kansas system; review options to tie compensation to performance reviews; other duties as determined by the Chairperson related to state employees and the state employment system; review the statutes governing state board member compensation, what boards receive compensation, and what the fiscal impact might look like to increase that compensation; hear from state agencies governed by state boards to determine what, if any, issues they might face in board member recruitment; and receive information on private sector board compensation to see how compensation for individuals serving on private sector boards compares to state boards.

Approved Meeting Days: 3 days

Committee Archive:

Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov