

## **Kansas Legislative Research Department**

Providing nonpartisan, objective research and fiscal analysis for the Kansas Legislature since 1934

68-West–Statehouse | 300 SW 10th Ave. | Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 (785) 296-3181

kslegres@klrd.ks.gov kslegislature.org/klrd

October 9, 2023

## Kansas Legislative Research Department—Staff Assignments 2023 Interim (*Updated*)

Special Committees	Staff
Child Care Centers and Child Care Homes	Chardae Caine, Leighann Thone, Jillian Block, Mike Ditch
Civil Asset Forfeiture	Natalie Nelson, Jordan Milholland, Lindsay Archer
Education	Matthew Willis, Jennifer Light, Brianna Horton, Arianna Waddell
Elections	Leighann Thone, Elaina Rudder, Jill Shelley, Jillian Block
Energy and Utilities	Lindsay Archer, Heather O'Hara, Kate Smeltzer, Luke Drury
Foreign Adversary Investments and Land Purchases	Jordan Milholland, Meredith Fry, Steven Wu
Governmental Ethics Reform, Campaign Finance Law	Elaina Rudder, Jillian Block, Jill Shelley, Molly Pratt
Homelessness	Iraida Orr, Natalie Nelson, Amanda Prosser
Intellectual and Developmental Disability Waiver	Dayton LaMunyon, Megan Leopold, Elizabeth Cohn
Mental Health	Elizabeth Cohn, Iraida Orr, Dayton LaMunyon
Nursing Facility Reimbursement Rate Methodology	Megan Leopold, Leighann Thone, Dayton LaMunyon
Restricted Driving Privileges	Eric Adell, Elizabeth Cohn, Martin de Boer
Taxation	Edward Penner, Eric Adell, Chardae Caine, <i>Mike Ditch</i>
Statutory Joint Committees/ Other Standing Committees	
Administrative Rules and Regulations	Jill Shelley, Jordan Milholland, Luke Drury, Nathan Grey
Child Welfare System Oversight	Natalie Nelson, Iraida Orr, Amanda Prosser, Nicole Hrenchir
Corrections and Juvenile Justice Oversight	Meredith Fry, Lindsay Archer, Jillian Block, Shirley Morrow
Fiduciary Financial Institutions Oversight	Melissa Renick, Edward Penner
Information Technology	James Fisher, Matthew Willis, Steven Wu
Kansas Security	Murl Riedel, Jill Shelley, Kate Smeltzer
Legislative Budget	Dylan Dear, fiscal team

Pensions, Investments and Benefits (Joint KPERS)	Steven Wu, J.G. Scott, Melissa Renick
Robert G. (Bob) Bethell Home and Community Based Services & KanCare Oversight	Elizabeth Cohn, Iraida Orr, Megan Leopold, Leighann Thone
Special Claims Against the State	Murl Riedel, Meredith Fry, Molly Pratt, <i>Nicole Hrenchir</i>
State Building Construction	Shirley Morrow, Martin de Boer
State-Tribal Relations*	Elaina Rudder, Jordan Milholland
House Committee on Commerce, Labor and Economic Development	Edward Penner, Elaina Rudder, Mike Ditch
House Committee on Water	Luke Drury, Heather O'Hara, Meredith Fry
Other Committees/Commission	ons/Councils/Task Forces
Capitol Preservation Committee	Heather O'Hara, Molly Pratt
Confirmation Oversight Committee (Senate)	Eric Adell, James Fisher, Megan Leopold
Health Care Stabilization Fund Oversight Committee	Melissa Renick, Kate Smeltzer
Legislative Compensation Commission	Dylan Dear, Steven Wu, Melissa Renick, J.G. Scott
Special Education and Related Services Funding Task Force	Matthew Willis, Jennifer Light, Brianna Horton
Unemployment Compensation Modernization and Improvement Council	Edward Penner, Steven Wu, Mike Ditch

<sup>\*</sup>To date, no meetings have been authorized.