KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

2020 Joint Committee on Kansas Security

Agenda/Minutes  • Report (PDF)

Senator Dan Goddard, Chairperson
Senator Kevin Braun
Senator Mike Petersen
Senator Pat Pettey
Senator Mary Ware
Representative Eric L. Smith, Vice-Chairperson
Representative Dave Baker
Representative Michael Houser
Representative Jarrod Ousley
Representative Louis Ruiz
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Jill Shelley
Aaron Klaassen
James Fisher
Kyle Hamilton
Charles Reimer
Committee Assistant
Connie Burns


Review Various Security Matters

       KSA 46-3301 directs the Joint Committee to study, monitor, review, and make recommendations on matters related to the security of state officers or employees, state and other public buildings and other property and infrastructure in the state, and to consider measures for the improvement of security for the state. In addition, the Committee is authorized to address these additional topics:

  • Hear testimony and formulate recommendations in the areas of:

    • Cybersecurity;

    • Implementation of updates to emergency communications capabilities
      across the state; and

  • The safety of students and state employees.

Approved Meeting Days: 1 day

Committee Archive:

Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov