KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

2020 Legislative Task Force on Dyslexia

Agenda/Minutes  •  Report

Senator Bruce Givens
Senator Ty Masterson
Representative Brenda Dietrich, Vicechairperson
Non-Legislative Members
Jim Porter, Chairperson, Kansas Board of Education
Jennifer Bettles, Title Reading Teacher, Herington USD 487
Sarah Brinkley, K-6 Low Incidence Special Education Teacher, Seaman USD 345
Jaime Callaghan, Director of Student Services, Auburn Washburn USD 437
Tally Fleming, Teacher, LaCygne
Dr. David Hurford, Professor, Pittsburg State University
Jennifer Knight, parent, Olathe
Alisa Matteoni, parent & board member, International Dyslexia Association KS/MO Branch
Christina Middleton, parent & Founder, Decoding Dyslexia, Johnson County
Jeanine Phillips, parent & Founder Fundamental Learning Center, Wichita
Jeri Powers, Reading Specialist, Desoto USD 232
Angie Schreiber, Center Director, Cradle to Career Literacy Center
Sonja Watkins, Principal, Hugoton USD 210
Non-Voting Ex-Officio Members
Mike Burgess, Disability Rights Center of Kansas
Laura Jurgensen, Kansas Department of Education
Lori McMillan, Professor, Washburn University School of Law
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Jessa Farmer
Norma Volkmer
Zach Fridell
Nick Myers
Committee Assistant
Deborah Bremer


     Pursuant to 2018 Sub. for HB 2602, the Task Force shall advise and make recommendations to the Governor, the Legislature, and the State Board of Education regarding matters concerning the use of evidence-based practices for students with dyslexia. Specifically, the bill provides the Task Force's recommendations and resource materials shall:

Evaluate the progress and effectiveness of the previous recommendations of the Task Force.

Approved Meeting Days: 1 day

Committee Archive:

KLRD logo, KLRD all caps, in blue Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov