KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

2020 Special Committee on Foster Care Oversight

Resources  •  Agenda/Minutes  •  Report

Senator Molly Baumgardner, Vicechairperson
Senator Ed Berger
Senator Bud Estes
Senator Oletha Faust-Goudeau
Senator Richard Hilderbrand
Representative Susan Concannon, Chairperson
Representative Suzi Carlson
Representative Gail Finney
Representative Nick Hoheisel
Representative Susan Humphries
Representative Jarrod Ousley
Representative John Resman
Representative Susan Ruiz

Non-Legislative Members

Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Iraida Orr
Martin de Boer
Milesha Segun
Norma Volkmer
Scott Abbott
Kyle Hamilton
Tamera Lawrence

Committee Assistant

Sky Westerlund

Study Topic

       The Committee is directed to:

Receive input from families, social workers, and other stakeholders on progress and shortfalls in the State's child welfare system, including quality of care for children in foster care, access to health and mental health services, trends in contributing factors, program outcomes from the Family First Prevention Services Act, and barriers to sharing information across stakeholders; and make recommendations to the Legislature on additional improvements and oversight needed to improve the State's child welfare system.

Approved Meeting Days: 6 days

Committee Archive:

KLRD logo, KLRD all caps, in blue Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov