KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

Capitol Preservation Committee

Agenda/Minutes  •  Report

Sen. Elaine Bowers Rep. Fred Patton
Rep. Valdenia Winn
Non-Legislative MembersEx Officio Members
Jennie Chin, Chair
Frank Burnam
Melinda Gaul
Tim Graham
Harrison Hems
Peter Jasso
Will Lawrence
Jeremy Stohs
Sharon Wenger
Jennie Chinn, Executive Director, Kansas State Historical Society (Chairperson)
Frank Burnam
Peter Jasso
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Heather O'Hara
Martin de Boer
Chris Waggoner
Jason Thompson
Committee Assistant


Review Various Issues Regarding the Capitol

Pursuant to KSA 75-2269, the responsibilities of the Committee are:

  • Approving all proposals for renovation of all areas of the Capitol, the Capitol's visitor center and the grounds surrounding the Capitol to insure that the historical beauty of the areas are preserved;
  • Preserving the proper decor of such areas;
  • Assuring that any art or artistic displays are historically accurate and have historic significance;
  • (Overseeing) the location and types of temporary displays and revolving displays in the Capitol including the visitor center; and
  • Overseeing the reconfiguration or redecoration of committee rooms within the Statehouse.


Approved Meeting Days: 1 day

Committee Archive:

KLRD logo, KLRD all caps, in blue Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov