KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

Legislative Compensation Commission

Agenda/Minutes  •  Report

Non-Legislative Members
Mark Hutton, Chairperson
Steve Abrams
Kelly Arnold
Tom Hawk
Anthony Hensley
Mark Kahrs
Ed McKechnie
Clark Shultz
Kevin Timmons
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Dylan Dear
Melissa Renick
J.G. Scott
Steven Wu
Scott Abbott
Gordon Self
David Wiese
Committee Assistant
Nancy Fontaine


Pursuant to provisions in 2023 Law (2023 Session Law, Chapter 69, Sections 1-2 [House Sub. for SB 229]), the Commission is directed to:

  • Make a comprehensive study of the compensation, salary, and retirement benefits of the Kansas Legislature;
  • Set the rates of compensation and salary for members of the Legislature, as directed by the legislation:
    • House Sub. for SB 229 (2023) requires the compensation rate and salary established by the Commission to become the rate of compensation and salary for legislators unless the Legislature rejects the rates through adoption of a concurrent resolution;
    • The Commission is required to establish the compensation rate and salary for members of the Legislature for a four-year period that commences on the first day of the 2025 Legislative Session on or before December 1, 2023; and
  • Make recommendations related to retirement benefits for members of the Legislature.

Committee Archive:

Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov