KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo

Back to:

2022 Special Committee on Mental Health Beds

Agenda/Minutes  • Resources • Final Report

Sen. Carolyn McGinn, Chairperson
Sen. Rick Billinger
Sen. J.R. Claeys
Sen. Tom Hawk
Sen. Richard Hilderbrand
Rep. Brenda Landwehr, Vice-chairperson
Rep. Will Carpenter
Rep. Henry Helgerson
Rep. Kyle Hoffman
Rep. Troy Waymaster
Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore
Kansas Legislative Research Dept. Office of Revisor of Statutes
Connor Stangler
Dayton LaMunyon
Megan Leopold
Scott Abbott
Eileen Ma
Jenna Moyer
Committee Assistant

Study Topic

Review the need for inpatient psychiatric hospital beds and develop a long-term plan to address mental health needs, review the regional bed expansion plan and how the beds would be constructed, review best practice providing the operation and oversight of the expanded beds, review the long-term fiscal impact of the additional beds, and study and develop a plan for providing a 50-bed facility with acute inpatient psychiatric beds and adult forensic beds in the Sedgwick county regional area.

Approved Meeting Days: 3 days

Committee Archive:

Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov