KLRD logo with mission statement


Twitter Logo in Blue Facebook Logo


KLRD staff members coordinate and help plan interim committee meetings and certain commissions and task forces that meet throughout the year.

During the regular legislative session, standing committees are coordinated and planned by committee assistants, who should be contacted through the office of the standing committee's chairperson.

Standing Committees are established by statute or by House or Senate Leadership that meet during the regular legislative session.

Interim Committees are either established by statute and meet outside the regular legislative session (e.g. joint committees, oversight committees, commissions, and task forces) or are created by Legislative Coordinating Council to review specified topics and legislation during the Interim.


Agenda/Minutes         Report

Sen. Bruce Givens
Sen. Ty Masterson

Rep. Brenda Dietrich, Vice-Chairperson

Non-Legislative Members
Jim Porter, Chairperson, Kansas Board of Education
Jennifer Bettles, Title Reading Teacher, Herington USD 487
Sarah Brinkley, K-6 Low Incidence Special Education Teacher, Seaman USD 345
Jaime Callaghan, Director of Student Services, Auburn Washburn USD 437
Tally Fleming, Teacher, LaCygne
Dr. David Hurford, Professor, Pittsburg State University
Jennifer Knight, parent, Olathe
Alisa Matteoni, parent & board member, International Dyslexia Association    KS/MO Branch
Christina Middleton, parent & Founder, Decoding Dyslexia, Johnson County
Jeanine Phillips, parent & Founder, Fundamental Learning Center, Wichita
Jeri Powers, Reading Specialist, Desoto USD 232
Angie Schreiber, Center Director, Cradle to Career Literacy Center
Sonja Watkins, Principal, Hugoton USD 210

Non-voting Ex Officio Members
Mike Burgess, Disability Rights Center of Kansas
Laura Jurgensen, Kansas Department of Education
Lori McMillan, Professor, Washburn University School of Law

Kansas Legislative Research Dept.
Edward Penner
John Hess

Office of Revisor of Statutes
Zach Fridell
Nick Myers

Deborah Bremer, Committee Assistant


     Pursuant to 2018 Sub. for HB 2602, the Task Force shall advise and make recommendations to the Governor, the Legislature, and the State Board of Education regarding matters concerning the use of evidence-based practices for students with dyslexia. Specifically, the bill provides the Task Force’s recommendations and resource materials shall:

  • Evaluate the progress and effectiveness of the previous recommendations of the Task Force.

Approved Meeting Days: 1 day

2019 Committees
2019 Approved Interim Committees
2019 Interim Committee Memberships
Interim Calendar
Preliminary Interim Committee Recommendations

Statutory Joint Committees Special Committees Other Task Forces, Commissions, Committees

Role of the Committees

Role of KLRD - Session

Role of KLRD - Interim

Committee Archive

2014 Interim Committees

2015 Interim Committees

2016 Interim Committees

2017 Interim Committees

2018 Interim Committees

Subject Index Interim Committee Reports

KLRD logo, KLRD all caps, in blue Kansas Legislative Research Department - Room 68-W State Capitol Building, 300 SW 10th Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1504 -- Phone (785) 296-3181 -- kslegres@klrd.ks.gov